Katie Mccullough Talks and Writes

Words will get written here and some videoblogs will appear. You don't have to look but it would be nice if you did.

Writing What I Don’t Know April 20, 2012

Filed under: theatre,Theatre and writing,young writer — katiemccullough @ 12:47 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

One of the projects I’m currently writing is all about hearts, more importantly a heart condition. It’s something I know sweet FA about. But I love research. I don’t think the well-worn mantra ‘write what you know‘ is meant to be taken literally otherwise we’d all have very sheltered plays. I’m writing what I know emotionally and I’m writing the characters that I know. Or something like that. Anyway, I’ve never done as much prep work on a play as I’ve done for this. My walls are littered with maps, diagrams, mythology, flat blueprints and more. There was a time when I found this play difficult to approach because it felt like it wasn’t allowing me to get close. Now I’ve fallen in love with it all over again.

 

I sliced into a pepper and found it’s heart so I let it beat in my hand before I ate it. It’s not cannibalism, it’s a vegetable.
 

 

 

2 Responses to “Writing What I Don’t Know”

  1. Gerry Hayes Says:

    Looks more like an ear. A tasty, tasty, ear.


Leave a Reply

