Katie Mccullough Talks and Writes

Words will get written here and some videoblogs will appear. You don't have to look but it would be nice if you did.

Sleeping (for a bit) But My Work’s Not Done. December 14, 2009

So today found me having the cast read out the first draft of which I was very excited (and anxious) about. Not only because I feel extremely proud of what I’ve crafted for the adaptation but because for the first time I’m eager to get on with the next project. Not that this one isn’t exciting, it really is because we’re going to be pushing the traditional setups that the audience around here are used to and it’s a meaty script for the cast to get their teeth into. But it’s because I’m feeling ready and motivated to start and finish a project with the intention of sending it out to the right people. I’ve been extremely good and concentrated on this project and have avoided falling into any competitions that have been hollering in my general direction. Nope. I’ve not fallen for it one bit and it’s because I’m treating this as my career now. Everyone who knows me can acknowledge the relentless drive I have to throw myself at any opportunity to help further my career. And I’m still doing it but I’m playing the slow race and producing work that I don’t cringe at and have a pocket full of pitiful excuses primed to wave in people’s faces. I’m making decisions and sticking with them rather than thinking, ‘sod it, if I don’t do this now the world will cave in and I’ll never get my work seen by anyone, anywhere’. Nope once again.

Luscious whiteboards a-plenty...

Luscious whiteboards a-plenty...

...More luscious whiteboards

...More luscious whiteboards

An arty shot... because I can.

An arty shot... because I can.

The readthrough was a blind one which allowed the cast to hear how each other’s characters developed and the director could vision the entirety. Everyone had read snippets from previous rehearsals but since then I’d rejigged them. Hang on, I say rejig, they were in no order and/or finished. They were little exchanges laying flaccid on pieces of A4 paper… This was exciting because I had fleshed out characters, plot and an entire script. It was thrilling to hand them over with the intention they could learn lines. And for the most part the story worked, it clicked and made sense which considering I was clasping at straws at the beginning of this project because I was unclear in my own head of what I wanted to do felt good. I’ve got one section that I need to rework on, that’s one speech and the reaction to it and then it’s done… I’d like to say. Maybe when it’s on its feet properly there may be some tweaking and scrapping of lines, but that’s way in the future now. Hopefully I haven’t jinxed any of it.

Whilst I’m here I thought I’d give a glimpse of what will hopefully be the arena for where we’re staging the piece:

Performance Space?

Performance Space?

Performance Space?

Performance Space?

It won’t be long till I completely hand over this script for ‘The White Room’ and leave the actors and the director to their own devices. Once they’re in the throes of getting the piece on its feet I can move back to project Simon helped me craft whilst in Shropshire. I’ve been fantastically resolute in not touching it till I’d finished this draft. And I haven’t. So it goes to show that I can be sensible and not all about work 100% of the time*.

Said script.

Said script.

*with a lot of willpower plus a hospital stay to extract gallbladder and working the money jobs… So you could call it a time collision thing but I really have been good and stuck to my own rules, promise!

 

2 Responses to “Sleeping (for a bit) But My Work’s Not Done.”

  1. alexmorrisroe Says:

    Oh good luck!!! You wont have jinxed it, keep writing, keep sticking to your guns!


Leave a Reply

